The total geographical coverage of the town is about 1300 hectares, and constituted of a population of about 15 000 people, excluding the hinterlands. The town is divided into six electoral wards, from which one representative per ward is democratically elected once in five years, to collectively form the Town Council. The Minister for Housing and Urban Development then appoints two additional Councilors, bringing the total number of Councilors to eight for the town.
The functions of the Council are outlined under section 55 of the Urban Government Act No.8 of 1969.

The core mandate of the Town Council can be summarized as development control within the urban area, provision and management of public services and amenities, as well as general administration of the town with the view to ensure order, health and progress for all within the urban area.
The Council executes its functions through an executive team of professionals headed by the Town Clerk, who is the chief executive officer of the town in terms of the Urban Government Act. The said professionals lead such portfolios as the town treasury, the engineering and technical services, the environmental health portfolio, human capital management and development, and social services section.
In the year under review, Council approved the creation of a new portfolio to spearhead local economic development and lead urban planning responsibilities of the local authority. The intention is to ensure that the observable rapid growth of the town is harmonized, with sound land use practices, sustainable development and a thriving and all-inclusive local economy. The position was not yet filled at the time of compiling the annual report. Overleaf is a diagram showing the administrative structure of the municipality.
Back to Top